Introduction

Hello cyber world! My name is Alex and I am a junior at the University of Maryland studying Economics.  Like most college students I love hanging out with my friends and participating in different sporting activities.  A few hobbies that I have that differ from other college students is my love for sailing and snowboarding.  I began sailing when I was 13, at summer camp and it has become one of my favorite activities.  Biotechnology is a futuristic concept that really caught my attention as a sophomore in college.  I took a course that concentrated on the on the human genome and what things like blood doping, cloning, and gene therapy could do for the human population.  While I was not well informed before taking the course, it was so interesting that I read up on the subject and became knowledgeable in select areas of Genetic Modification.  A topic in which i have a strong interest in is blood doping, which is the practice of boosting the number of red blood cells in the bloodstream in order to enhance athletic performance.  Many famous athletes have tried this to get a leg up on the competition. Most will relate this with the Lance Armstrong scandal that just occurred where he was accused of using this method to gain an edge.  Stay updated with our blog, as we highlight the importance of genetic modifications for our world.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

