Hello world!

My name is Travis, and I am currently a senior at the University of Maryland studying Trumpet performance and Communication Studies with a Minor in Rhetoric.  I had heard about cloning and stem cell research a lot in high school.  While I really did not know much about it, I always assumed that it was wrong because many of the teachers in my very Conservative school said they were.  It was not until college that I realized that I may have thought wrong, especially when it came to food.  As an avid foodie and self-proclaimed health nut, I was shocked to find out that many of the foods we consume have been genetically modified.

After discovering this, I began to do a lot of research into which foods had GMO (Genetically Modified Organisms), their effects and their impact on the environmental.

While doing this research, I found that GMOs, stem cell research, and cloning all fell under the umbrella term of “biotechnology”.  After doing more research on these topics, I came to the conclusion that I had been taught incorrectly.  Many of these processes have great health benefits.  Despite this concession, I could not bring myself to agree that GMOs were safe to eat without some kind of label.  This fear was solidified with various images and articles explaining the internal effects GMOs have on the body.

Call it propaganda or fear mongering, but these images and the several articles published on the topic really closed any chances of me outright accepting GMOs because the technology is still so new.  That being said, I really know that some of these modifications can lead to safer more resilient food.  For that reason, I believe that GMOs should be labeled as such.  This will allow people to knowingly purchase GMOs and be given the option to do so.  In America, we currently cannot.  In fact, almost all of the food that we consume has been genetically modified, and I feel that we as a population have the right to know.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hello world!

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

